Skip to content

Australian English apps

Aussie Talk, Oz Speak, Slangaroo, StrayaMate and SpeakAussie

Aussie Talk, Oz Speak, Slangaroo, StrayaMate and SpeakAussie are separate apps. This page lists what each public Australian App Store listing said on 2 November 2026. It does not rank them. Listings change, so the linked page is the source.

Aussie Talk is on iPhone.

Learn, chat with Bruce, translate, and play the sport card game.

Aussie Talk

Aussie Talk is an iPhone app. The Australian App Store listing shows it as free to download, and says the app shows each plan's price in your currency before you buy. Learn has 6 stages, 46 lessons and 346 items, including 95 sayings. Every word and saying in Learn is recorded by a real Australian. You can also chat with Bruce and use Translate.

  • Premium Monthly is A$14.99 in Australia and US$9.99 in the United States.
  • Premium Annual is A$39.99 in Australia and US$24.99 in the United States, with a 7-day free trial for eligible new subscribers.
  • Lifetime Learning is A$24.99 in Australia and US$14.99 in the United States.
  • Other countries see local prices.

Aussie Talk on the Australian App Store. What is in the app.

Oz Speak

The Oz Speak listing on the Australian App Store, checked on 2 November 2026, shows a free download. It describes the app for English learners, students and tourists. It says the app has short clips with Australian speakers and subtitles, quizzes and games, lessons by topic and level, a vocabulary list and dictionary with example sentences, and speaking practice where you record your voice and compare your accent. It also mentions daily reminders, progress tracking, offline access to saved lessons, and bilingual support. The listing does not give a lesson count, and it does not state a paid price.

Slangaroo

The Slangaroo: Aussie Slang Quiz listing, checked on 2 November 2026, shows a free download. It says the app is for newcomers, travellers and English learners. It describes quizzes (multiple choice, fill in the blank, and matching a slang word to a definition), learning bundles from beginner to advanced, a slang dictionary with examples, meanings, origins and related terms, a Slang of the Day widget, favourites, iCloud sync, and offline use. It says some premium bundles are available as in-app purchases. The listing does not state those prices.

StrayaMate

The Australian App Store has two listings from the same seller. The free one is titled Strayamate - Australian Slang. Its description calls the app StrayaMate. Checked on 2 November 2026, that free listing says the app has Australian phrases and terms with definitions and usage, sound recordings of pronunciation recorded by a native Australian, nature sounds, an Aussie word of the day widget, search, places with navigation, and a way to submit a phrase. The listing says it features more than 600 local phrases.

A separate app, Strayamate Aussie Slang & more, is listed at A$1.99 on the Australian App Store on the same date. That paid listing describes phrases with usage examples, pronunciation sounds, a slang word of the day widget, places with navigation, an Apple Watch quiz called Aussie Quiz, a Slangman game, phrase submissions, and leaderboards. It does not give a phrase count.

SpeakAussie

The SpeakAussie listing, checked on 2 November 2026, shows a free download. It says the app is for migrants, international students, working holiday makers, visitors, professionals and anyone building a life in Australia. The listing gives these counts: 26 learning modules, 244 lessons, 2,643 recorded dialogue lines with Australian English audio, 244 core sentences, 732 sentence substitution exercises, 722 Australian life notes, 60 Aussie slang entries, 34 slang mini-lessons, 290 abbreviations, 56 living culture guides and 54 life tips. It also lists speaking practice with a pronunciation assessment, and normal and slow audio.

The listing says support is in 7 languages: English, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Korean and Thai. It says an introductory lesson can be tried free, and that premium content is one lifetime purchase, with no subscription and no monthly fee. The listing does not show the price of that lifetime purchase.

Sources

Australian App Store listings, checked on 2 November 2026.

Aussie Talk's stage, lesson, item and saying counts, and the Australian prices, are the figures published on this website. The App Store link above is the download page.

Questions about this comparison

Does this page rank Aussie Talk, Oz Speak, Slangaroo, StrayaMate and SpeakAussie?

No. It lists what each public Australian App Store listing said on 2 November 2026. It does not score the apps or tell you which one to pick.

What does Aussie Talk include?

Learn has 6 stages, 46 lessons and 346 items, including 95 sayings. Every word and saying in Learn is recorded by a real Australian. You can also chat with Bruce and use Translate. Premium Monthly is A$14.99. Premium Annual is A$39.99, with a 7-day free trial for eligible new subscribers. Lifetime Learning is A$24.99. Other countries see local prices.

What prices does this page leave out?

Where a listing does not state a price, this page does not invent one. Oz Speak's listing does not state a paid price. Slangaroo says some premium bundles are in-app purchases and does not state those prices. SpeakAussie says premium content is one lifetime purchase and does not state that price. All of those notes are from the Australian App Store listings checked on 2 November 2026.

Hear it, then say it.

Every word and saying in Learn is recorded by a real Australian. Talk with Bruce includes 3 free chats a day.